To limit user comments or not…

When using some apps, I find that oftentimes the user comments are either spam or completely uninformative. I began doing some research on how beneficial user comments actually end up being, and I ended up on a website  that provides the “Best iPhone App Review Sites for Developers.”

From the idea of submitting apps to different review sites, I figured that the most advantageous way to get the best feedback possible is by submitting the comments for review (that is, if I do decide to incorporate user comments into my app). This seems like a very small part of my app, but, in reality, having an app filled with spam and unnecessary/ inappropriate/ uninformative comments can make it seem much less legitimate and user friendly.

User comments, in many cases, can be beneficial to the user. However, for this app, I think I would either have to limit the amount of approved comments on the app or eliminate them altogether. Instead of reviews, I think it would be better to give a general overview of the bar, i.e. the age group that goes to it, the price range, etc. This would make my users feel less obligated to filter through numerous and, sometimes, misleading comments. A website like BarMeister would be a great example of the “reviews” that I am interested in providing my audience. Of course, I’d also like to add some other factors, such as Happy Hours, specials and price range.

Leave a comment